LAKE FOREST, IL — The Chicago Bears and the Brian Piccolo Cancer Research Fund announced Stephen Paea and Nick Roach as the 2011 Brian Piccolo Award winners. The honor has been given to a Bears rookie since 1970 and was expanded in 1992 to include a veteran winner. Bears players vote for the rookie and veteran who best exemplify the courage, loyalty, teamwork, dedication and sense of humor of the late Brian Piccolo.

Roach joins Myron Baker (1983), Mickey Pruitt (1988), Hall of Famer Mike Singletary (1981 and ‘92) and teammateBrian Urlacher (2000 and ’07) as Bears linebackers to be honored with the Piccolo Award. In 2011, Roach started 15 of 16 games played at SLB, recording 61 tackles, six tackles for losses, three pass break ups and two special teams stops.


Paea, the Bears 2011 second-round draft choice (53rd overall) appeared in the final 11 contests of the season, recording 18 tackles, two sacks – including a safety – and two tackles for losses. He is the first Bears rookie defensive tackle to be honored with the Piccolo Award since Tommie Harris in 2004.

In all, 56 different Bears have won the award including six others on the current roster: Matt Forté (2008), Devin Hester(2006), Johnny Knox (2009), Charles Tillman (2003 and 2008), Urlacher (2000 and ’07) and J’Marcus Webb (2010).

Brian Piccolo joined the Bears in 1965, following a senior season at Wake Forest during which he led the nation in scoring (111 points) and rushing (1,044 yards). Piccolo was not selected in the NFL draft, but he signed with the Bears as a free agent and made the club. He was in his fourth season when a chest x-ray revealed a malignancy. Several months later on June 16, 1970, he died at age 26 from embryonal cell carcinoma. At the time Piccolo died, the disease was 100% fatal, but today the cure rate is over 70%. He left behind his wife Joy, three daughters, and legions of friends.

Proceeds from the Brian Piccolo Cancer Research Fund benefit breast cancer research at Rush Medical Center and the Clearbrook Center for the developmentally disabled in Arlington Heights.

Past Piccolo award winners are listed below (active players in bold):


rencontre serieuse homme cherche femme ALL-TIME BRIAN PICCOLO AWARD WINNERS (1970-2010)




1970     Glen Holloway (G)

1971     Jerry Moore (S)

1972     Jim Osborne (DT)

1973     Wally Chambers (DT)

1974     Fred Pagac (TE)

1975     Roland Harper (RB)

1976     Brian Baschnagel (WR)

1977     Ted Albrecht (T)

1978     John Skibinski (RB)

1979     Dan Hampton (DE)

1980     Bob Fisher (TE)

1981     Mike Singletary (LB)

1982     Jim McMahon (QB)

1983     Jim Covert (T)

1984     Shaun Gayle (DB)

1985     Kevin Butler (K)

1986     Neal Anderson (RB)

1987     Ron Morris (WR)

1988     James Thornton (TE)

Mickey Pruitt (LB)

1989     Trace Armstrong (DE)

1990     Mark Carrier (S)

1991     Chris Zorich (DT)

1992     Troy Auzenne (T)

Mike Singletary (LB)

1993     Myron Baker (LB)

Todd Perry (T)

Tom Waddle (WR)

1994     Raymont Harris (RB)

Shaun Gayle (S)

1995     Rashaan Salaam (RB)

Erik Kramer (QB)

1996     Bobby Engram (WR)

Chris Zorich (DT)

1997     John Allred (TE)

Van Hiles (S)

Ryan Wetnight (TE)

1998     Tony Parrish (S)

Bobby Engram (WR)

1999     Jerry Azumah (CB)

Marcus Robinson (WR)

2000 and 1>läänemaa viro

Brian Urlacher (LB)

Clyde Simmons (DE)

2001     Anthony Thomas (RB)

James Williams (T)

2002     Alex Brown (DE)

Phillip Daniels (DE)

2003      watch Charles Tillman (CB)

Olin Kreutz (C)

2004     Tommie Harris (DT)             Olin Kreutz (C)

2005     Chris Harris (S)

John Tait (T)

2006 youtube rencontre femme      Devin Hester (CB/KR)             Olin Kreutz (C)

2007     Greg Olsen (TE)

photo homme pour site de rencontre             Brian Urlacher (LB)     

2008      Matt Forté (RB)

click here             Charles Tillman (CB)

2009 citas via internet      Johnny Knox (WR/KR)

preguntas abiertas para conocer ala gente             Olin Kreutz (C)

2010      J’Marcus Webb (T)

Anthony Adams (DT)

2011     Stephen Paea (DT)

            Nick Roach (LB)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>